NGWI Research Committees Staffed & Starting

Late last year, NGWI refreshed our research focus areas to better reflect current research needs and more tightly align with researchers and funding sources like ARS and NIFA. At the Mid-Year Board Meeting on June 8 in Sacramento, Research Chair Nick Dokoozlian shared the structure for the four Theme Committees, and announced the people who have agreed to serve on them.

Each NGWI Research Theme Committee has nine members, Nick said: six representing industry (the chair and five standing committee members) and three academic subject matter experts. Committee members are chosen for their expertise, and industry and geographic diversity, and serve three-year terms. The new committee members are:

Natural Resources and Environment
Anji Perry – CA – J Lohr Vineyards & Wines
Imed Dami – The Ohio State University
Anne Fennell – South Dakota State University
Toby Halkovich – CA – Cakebread
Allison Jordan – CA – Wine Institute
Markus Keller – Washington State University
Andrew McElrone – ARS/UC Davis
Tony Stephen – CA – American Vineyard Foundation (Scheid Vineyards)
Julie Tarara –  WA – Ste. Michelle Wine Estates
Vladimer Tudor – CA – California Table Grape Commission (Tudor Ranch)

Integrated Vineyard Production Systems
Russell Smithyman – WA – Ste. Michelle Wine Estates
Craig Bardwell – WA – National Grape Co-operative/Welch’s
Kaan Kurtural – UC Davis
Andrew Meggitt – MO – St. James Winery
Marshall Miller – CA – Thornhill Properties
Rich Schaefers – CA – Silverado Partners
Patty Skinkis – OR – Oregon State University
Tony Wolf – Virginia Tech University
John V. Zaninovich – CA – California Table Grape Commission (Vincent B. Zaninovich & Sons)

Genetics and Grapevine Improvement
Franka Gabler, CTGC
Dario Cantu – UC Davis
Matt Clark – MN – University of Minnesota
Deborah Golino – UC Davis
Jason Londo – ARS/Cornell University
Dan Martinez – CA – Martinez Nursery
John Martini – NY – Anthony Road Wine Company
Rachel Naegele – CA – USDA ARS Parlier
Rick Stark – CA – Sun-Maid
Andrew Zaninovich – CA – Sunview Vineyards / California Table Grape Commission

Extension and Outreach
Keith Striegler – CA – E&J Gallo
Jim Anderson – Missouri Wine & Grape Board
Stephanie Bolton – CA – Lodi Winegrape Commission
Ed Hellman – Texas A&M University
Ryan Logoluso – California Table Grape Commission (Frank A. Logoluso Farms)
Michelle Moyer – Washington State University
Emilio Miranda – CA – Allied Grape Growers
Mike Moriyama – CA – Sun-Maid
Hans Walter-Peterson – Cornell University

The Research Theme Committees began their work in June, and will be working to identify research needs in their respective theme areas. Their goal is to produce a refreshed research roadmap by the end of the year.

Congratulations—and thank you—to all who have committed to serve!